Monadnock Regional School District (MRSD) School Board/Budget Committee Pre/Post Deliberative Session Meeting Minutes February 3, 2024 (Not Yet Approved) Monadnock Regional MS/HS, Swanzey, NH

Board Members Present: Pre-Deliberative: Scott Peters, Lisa Steadman, Betty Tatro, Eric Stanley, Jeff Cesaitis, Cheryl McDaniel-Thomas, Stephanie Lawlor and Kristen Noonan. **Absent:** Jennifer Strimbeck, Brian Bohannon, Dan LeClair, Gina Carraro and Ed LaPlante

Budget Committee Members Present: Pre-Deliberative: Adam Hopkins, Robert Young, Nancy Carney, Ed Sheldon, Anne Marie Osheyack, Robert Audette, Doug Bersaw and Dan Coffman. **Absent:** Wayne Lechlider, Jon Hoden, Richard HKS Thackston and unassigned seats from Gilsum and Roxbury.

Administration Present: J. Rathbun, Superintendent, C. Woods, Director of Student Services and J. Morin, Business Administrator

Also Present: J. O'Shaughnessy, Board's Attorney and L. Aivaliotis, Recording Secretary.

S.Peters opened the Pre-Deliberative Session at 9:15 AM.

DISCUSSION: S.Peters asked if anyone had any questions about the Deliberative Session. K. Noonan commented that at the Budget Hearing there was discussion regarding the Special Education Expendable Trust. There was no discussion about the language of the article; it was misunderstood. She said with the high Special Ed. costs she felt maybe the Board may want to increase the \$1.00 on the Warrant Article to \$54,000.00. D. Coffman commented if J. Rathbun, J. Morin and the Board agree he would agree. J. O'Shaughnessy explained that there is no limitation on accessing the funds. J. Morin had understood that the funds could be used only if the District had exhausted all of the budget. J. O'Shaughnessy said that is how most Districts do it but when the article was created there is no need to wait but most Districts do wait. You can change the number but not the funding. He also commented that this is a tax leveling mechanism. The Board has authority over these funds. The Trustees can not restrict. J. Morin commented that they are tracking the current budget very closely. They will be using some of the ESSER Funds for Special Education but the approval process takes time. At this point the administration feels comfortable and does not feel that there will be a deficit situation at the end of the school year. She did say that taking the surplus has an impact on the tax rate.

S.Peters recessed the meeting until the Deliberative Session at 10:00 AM

DELIBERATIVE SESSION: There are separate Deliberative Meeting Minutes.

Administration Present Post-Deliberative: J. Rathbun, Superintendent, C. Woods, Director of Student Services and J. Morin, Business Administrator.

Budget Committee Members Present: Post-Deliberative: Location MRMHS Auditorium: Adam Hopkins, Robert Young, Nancy Carney, Ed Sheldon, Richard HKS Thackston, Anne Marie Osheyack, Robert Audette, Doug Bersaw and Dan Coffman. Absent: Wayne Lechlider, Jon Hoden and unassigned seats from Gilsum and Roxbury.

MOTION: D.Coffman **MOVED** to support Warrant Article Three as amended at the Deliberative Session. **SECOND:** A. M. Osheyack **VOTE:** Unanimous for those present. **Motion passes.**

MOTION: A. Hopkins **MOVED** to adjourn the meeting at 10:24 AM. **SECOND:** D. Coffman **VOTE:** Unanimous for those present. **Motion passes.**

Board Members Present: Post-Deliberative: Location MRMHS Auditorium: Scott Peters, Lisa Steadman, Betty Tatro, Eric Stanley, Jeff Cesaitis, Cheryl McDaniel-Thomas, Stephanie Lawlor and Kristen Noonan. **Absent:** Jennifer Strimbeck, Brian Bohannon, Dan LeClair, Gina Carraro and Ed LaPlante.

MOTION: L. Steadman **MOVED** to support Warrant Article Three as amended at the Deliberative Session. **SECOND:** C. McDaniel-Thomas. **VOTE:** Unanimous for those present. **Motion passes.**

MOTION: K. Noonan **MOVED** to adjourn the meeting at 10:25 AM. **SECOND:** S. Lawlor. **VOTE:** Unanimous for those present. **Motion passes.**

Respectfully submitted,

Laura L. Aivaliotis Recording Secretary